Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How many times on one stand?

Old 03-06-2007, 06:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How many times on one stand?

How many times or how longwill you hunt a stand if you are not seeing what you think you should be seeing, according to the sign in your area.Do you sit in the stand with confidence or do you leave an go look across the other side of the clear cut, swamp, field etc. during the rut.
Old 03-06-2007, 07:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How many times on one stand?

I've been hunting the same piece of property for 15 years now so I have a pretty good idea where the good spots are for stands during the rut. If you hunt where the does are, sooner or later a shooter will check that place out. But, I know I have no confidence if Im not seeing deer from one stand so Ill move. You have to hunt where the deer are in order to kill one. All the sign in the world doesnt necessarily mean your gonna see deer out of a stand, it could all be night time movement.
Old 03-06-2007, 08:07 PM

patterns are key. I killed my buck this year after only two days of scouting and seeing where they were moving. Both days they followed exactly the same paths and went to the same places. I picked a spot for the stand and two days later I had the right wind, went in wasn't in the stand for more than 15 minutes before I had my buck on the ground. Otherwise, if you confidence in one spot that offers good visability - even if you aren't getting deer into range, use it as a scouting stand more or less. Take some notes as to where the deer are going to and from and you'll patern them real quickly as long as their point of interest is a constant (watering hole, small food plot, rub line, scrape line, etc.)
Old 03-06-2007, 08:15 PM
Nontypical Buck