Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

When do the deer change their routines??

Old 12-02-2002, 03:03 PM

Default When do the deer change their routines??

I am fairly new to bow hunting and I have a lot to learn. I'm from Ontario Canada and have been hunting a funnel between two corn fields and hardwoods. I have seen a lot of deer this year (15) now. Alot of does early in our season but I wanted to wait, also 4 bucks but none close enough for a shot. The problem I am having is that it is now bitterly cold and we have about 4-5 inches of snow on the ground. Tonights forcast is to drop to -21(f). It started snowing about a week ago and the temp dropped since then I have not seen hide nor hair (pardon the pun) of the deer. I took a walk down to the lower fields (surrounded by thick swamp and evergreen) and there is a ton of sign and it snowed last night so it is fresh. I took a chance and put my secondary stand down where I seen the most sign in a large apple tree between two corn fields and the swamp. The question I have is should I change to that stand or stick to my primary?? I have tried to find reading material on when the deers routines change due to weather but I cant find anything. Can anyone help??
Old 12-02-2002, 03:16 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: When do the deer change their routines??

ZUES, Personally, I change my stand locations as dictated by the habits of the deer. I know that some hunters are restricted to small areas and even single stand locations. My experience has indicated that it is not difficult to "burn out" a stand by repetitive hunting even if your super careful.
I have found it better to have more than 1 location and change when needed. IF you can place a stand in the area with all of the sign, do so. What I do not know is if the location of your secondary stand will put you in shooting range of your target. Luck!