Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Never too early to plan for next year....

Old 01-14-2007, 05:14 PM

Default Never too early to plan for next year....

My main goal this season was to take a buck w/ my bow. Didn't happen, BUT that has made me all the more determined for next year. I'll be in the woods shed hunting and post season scouting (I've never done that before) and I want to have a stand or two hung by April. My biggest goal for the spring is to find a few more farms to hunt this fall. I'll be headed to the county seat and buying a plat book. Oh, andam in need of a few cheap-O hang on stands......wink, wink......

How bout ya'll? What are you doing this spring to prepare for next fall?
Old 01-14-2007, 05:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Never too early to plan for next year....

I've been walking my property as much as possible and actually going into the real thick stuff to find networks of trails and where they actually come from and lead to. I'm going to use arial photos in conjunction with my walks and begin to make notes. I hope to have an actual deer activity "blueprint" that I can use to determine better stand locations in relation to wind direction. I've also started clearing out areas for new stands and ways to get into and out of the stands as well as creating brush funnels. I live in an area that has been less than ideal in deer population in the past three or so years but I'm going to be doing everything to increase my odds.
Old 01-14-2007, 06:16 PM
dws

I'm working on my property to clean it up a little. I bought it 2 years ago and inherited about 200 junk tires with it. I hauled 54 to the landfill last week, 150 more to go at $2 a piece [:@]. I'd also like to thin a few areas out a little more just so I can see better. I just don't want to do so much that I change the deer patterns though.
Old 01-14-2007, 06:38 PM