Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Warm weather hunting

Old 12-21-2006, 04:57 AM

Default Warm weather hunting

Hey all, I live in ND and it has been unusually warm here this year. This is my first year bow hunting. I was wondering if there is anything I should be doing to successfully bow hunt deer in warmer weather like this.

My brother tells me that with it being warmer than it should be the deer are not going to move much and that they will more than likely come to food sources during the night.

I hunt a WMA that has corn fields and nice tree cover and a fairly large stream.

Any suggestions?
Old 12-21-2006, 07:12 AM

Default RE: Warm weather hunting

this kinda depends on what the temps are. in extreme heat they will move more because they need water that more often. if its in the mid 30's or 40's, they still be moving(at least here anyhow) they MIGHT move slightly less but then isn't that what archery's about. the wait, the anticipation and the score??

you just might have to sit longer, bring out plenty to eat,drink and read to pass the time.

speed

Old 12-21-2006, 07:23 AM

Yes it has been 30s and 40s, which is high for up here usually this time of year we are hugging 0.

I plan sitting closer to the corn at night and then back closer to the woods in the AM. Some one told me once hunt beds in the AM and food in the PM.
Old 12-21-2006, 09:51 AM
Fork Horn