Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

save a ton of cash for broadheads name brand too!!

Old 12-01-2006, 08:58 AM
Fork Horn

Default save a ton of cash for broadheads name brand too!!

Hey guys, Ive been doing something for the last three years that i thought was just common sense. My good freind who ive known for years also does this two towns over. I went into my local butcher and requested he saved any found broadheads. He was very reluctant at first but i told him id give him a couple bucks for each so he agreed.well this shop does about 3400 deer a season I'm told. and anyways i ended up with more than fifty. So i took these broadheads and soaked them in a five gallon bucket of wallpaper removal solvent. It worked great, all the guts and grime came right off with a little persuasion. So now over the years of aquired no less than 200 broad heads for about 80-100 bucks. thebroadheadsI usually use for coyotes or small game.

[hr]

Good luck and thankyou to all who don't remove their broadheads.
its also very dangerous for the men/women preparing your deer so be sure to let them know where its at
Thanks
Old 12-01-2006, 09:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: save a ton of cash for broadheads name brand too!!

I don't speak for anyone but myself, but I would never trust the integrity of a broadhead that was randomly found in a dead deer. Nor would I want to go into the woods carrying a bunch of different heads in my quiver, many of which I'm sure have different flight characteristics.

I tune my bow and my arrows to the specific head I'm shooting to insure optimal flight and performance out of every arrow, every shot. When it comes to cutting corners and saving a few bucks, I'm not going to do it at the expense of the most important piece of the puzzle when it comes to killing a deer with archery equipment.
Old 12-01-2006, 09:20 AM
Dominant Buck