Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

60 yards!? are you kidding me?

Old 11-01-2006, 09:36 PM
Typical Buck

Default 60 yards!? are you kidding me?

I was watching a hunting show today on the mens outdoor channel, and the guy took a 60 yard shot with his bow! Am i the only one who is a little surprised by this? im just a beginner and only shoot out to 20 yards, that buck was 3X farther than that. Granted he made the shot and killed the animal, and he was most likely shooting a top of the line bow with incredible power and fps, it still seemed far. Would you take that shot? he was using lumenoks, and i could honestly see his arrow in the air for quite a while between release and point of impact, the deer would have had time to turn and run before it even got there if it had known what was going on.
Old 11-01-2006, 09:45 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: 60 yards!? are you kidding me?

No, I wouldn't shoot that far at any game animal. You don't think he shot that far to give the camera a chance to show off his sponsor's product, do ya? Naw...
Old 11-01-2006, 09:50 PM
Fork Horn

I would never shoot that far. I am pretty good with my bow out to thirty yards but honestly I have a hard time letting my arrow fly at a deer at thirty yards.
Typical Buck

I know what you're talkin about arthur, those shows are terrible, i saw one today where right after the kill this guy busted out about 3 or 4 different sets of knives to use to gut/field dress his deer, and coincidentally they were all made by the same company! anyway, i just like seeing the animals, not so much all the product placement. But it is way better and more respectful to the animal than some of the hunting videos you might see on youtube.com or other home-made hunting video sights.