Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Wanting to get into bowhunting and I need some bow help

Old 10-17-2006, 04:38 PM

Default Wanting to get into bowhunting and I need some bow help

Well howdy all, I'm planning to get a new box in the next 3 months since hopefully prices will be down and I'll have plenty of practice time so next year I can hopefully take my first deer with bow. Unfortunately I come from a pretty much hunting free family and have been outdoors crazy since little and have had to be self taught. I am just now starting to read up some on the subject and hate to miss some good hunting just b/c i cant use a bow. So on to the main question/s: I would really like a Hoyt but I'm on a budget preferably around or under $400. I thought of the option of high dollar bows being for sale after season at pawn shops, etc. Most people I know recommend PSE and Matthews b/c few want to spent Hoyt money. At the local proshop they are having a sale on all Hoyts and PSEs. I am however not super fond of the feel of the PSE bows. I'm not necessarily looking for super cutting edge technology, more reliability above all else. They have a Hoyt Mystic Intruder on sale for $189. Its older style realtree camo, 50-60lb, cant remember the rest of the specs on it. It has a good feel to me and definately would be a nice price if worth it. I havent got to get measured yet either but I am interested. Are these very reliable or a good value? I've heard *alot* of good on Fred Bear too and also seem very nicely priced. Any help on that Hoyt or recommendations?
Old 10-17-2006, 04:51 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: Wanting to get into bowhunting and I need some bow help