Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

buck/doe ratio questions.....

Old 08-14-2006, 02:19 PM
Dominant Buck

Default buck/doe ratio questions.....

My question is this…..

If the buck/doe ratio is a skewed as some would have us to believe……why wouldn’t our NCWRC reduce the number of bucks we’re allowed to take…..OR ….implement the rule that a lot of states have that woud require each hunter to harvest a doe before qualifying for an antlered harvest? In NC, last year.....the ratio of harvest was 2.4/1 (bucks to does).

I know they have their reasons……but it would seem that we need to do something to get the numbers more on a 50/50 basis. WHY??? I’m just thinking out loud….and I am NOT a wildlife expert…..but….let’s just say…on average….that each doe bears one fawn. It would make sense that 50% of those fawns reared would be bucks. If the harvest ratio was 50/50…..wouldn’t this solve the problem?

I know it looks like I’m suggesting a solution to the “reported” lack of bucks (and this could hold true for ANY state that’s claiming low buck/doe ratios), but I’m really making a hypothetical (although the harvest ratio is real) to see what the REAL answer is to seeing more bucks.

Competition for does is a good thing!

Jeff
Old 08-15-2006, 06:32 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: buck/doe ratio questions.....

Nobody???

I'm just wondering why each state wouldn't strive for a 1/1 ratio???

Is there a scientific reason why we shouldn't all strive for this?

jeff
Old 08-15-2006, 06:49 AM
Nontypical Buck