Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Expandable Broadheads

Old 07-10-2006, 10:07 PM

Default Expandable Broadheads

Just curious how many of you use expandables? I have been using the G5 Tekan for three years now and I am pretty sold on them. The selling point was that the blade locks open.

Old 07-11-2006, 05:19 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Expandable Broadheads

Depends on what you set up is I guess. I would never use them. 100g Thunderheads all the way. Moving parts = failure when you can least afford it.

Old 07-11-2006, 06:14 AM

I have been using them for 6 years now and knock on wood no problems yet.
Old 07-11-2006, 06:41 AM
Giant Nontypical

WORTHLESS in my book, I have found way too many expandables inside deer that I have shot during gun season. Scary thing is, they were all good shots and should have killed the bucks and does if the blades had opened and or didnt break off when hitting bone. Ill stick with my Muzzy 4 blade.
Old 07-11-2006, 08:18 AM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: wis_bow_huntr

WORTHLESS in my book, I have found way too many expandables inside deer that I have shot during gun season. Scary thing is, they were all good shots and should have killed the bucks and does if the blades had opened and or didnt break off when hitting bone. Ill stick with my Muzzy 4 blade.
First of all lets not get carried away with what you are saying. I know expandables have wounded some deer but there has been many a fixed head that have wounded deer also.
Old 07-11-2006, 11:10 AM
Fork Horn

wis_bow_huntr
"WORTHLESS in my book, I have found way too many expandables inside deer that I have shot during gun season. Scary thing is, they were all good shots and should have killed the bucks and does if the blades had opened and or didnt break off when hitting bone. Ill stick with my Muzzy 4 blade."