Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First year bowhunter needs your thoughts

Old 11-01-2002, 09:12 PM

Default First year bowhunter needs your thoughts

I've been hunting whitetail for 34 years.This is my first year bowhunting.I have my stand about 18' in a tree.It's at the edge of a cut cornfield.The first day I sat till dark deer came within range but not until it was too dark to shoot.The next day I was there and 3 deer came in when there was still enough light.I pulled my bow back when 1 deer came within range,it did not offer a good shot so I let down.I pulled back again when I saw a deer walking broadside and would offer a shot as soon as it cleared some branches.It stopped about 15 yards out and I had a good broadside shot.I let the arrow fly and the deer I shot at did a 180.It took off running with the other 2.I can't see much of the cornfield because of overhanging tree branches.I watched and listened till all was quiet.It looked like they ran through the field,it also sounded like they did.I got down,went to my truck and got a lantern.I found my arrow and it was covered with blood.It was dark by then so I went back the next day.The cornfield is about 200 yards wide.There is alot of golden rod around the field that stands about 5 feet high.I marked the area where I found my arrow but I did not mark the exact spot.I looked for any hair or blood where I thought the deer was standing.I thought maybe I hit the deer high and started to expand my search.I moved very slowly and had a spray bottle of hydrogen peroxide with me.To make a long story a little shorter I looked for nine hours in the field and around it.I did not find any blood.I made 1 mistake by taking my arrow out of the ground,if I had it to do over I would have.I'm totally bummed out,what could have happened?Has this ever happened to any of you?I'm just wishing I only grazed the deer an