Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

sight adjustment from field pt to broadhead question?

Old 05-24-2006, 05:05 PM
Fork Horn

Default sight adjustment from field pt to broadhead question?

I just shot broadheads from my fairly new rig ('05 outback, 29" 70lb, trophy taker drop away, impact archery 3 pin collector, GT XT hunters 5575 muzzy 3 blade 100 gr). I had the field tips dialed in pretty good...The broadheads weren't much worse at all. I could compensate without physically moving the sight.

My question is- do most of you readjust the sights for when you shoot broadheads? Or do you only do it if the difference between field tips and broadheads is substantial?

I'm still learning...thanks for any and all help

saltflyz
Old 05-24-2006, 05:12 PM

Default RE: sight adjustment from field pt to broadhead question?

Sight it in for the broadheads.. When it comes time to shoot an animal you don't want to have to rember to compensate...
Old 05-24-2006, 06:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

I usually shoot and sight in for my field points, then the week or so before opening day I shoot my broadheads. The grouping between the two is usually barely noticible. So for that reason I do not change my sights, besides I dont want to start screwing with my sights that close before opening day unless it is absolutely nessesary. Make sure too that your field tips and broadheads are the same weight in grains.
Old 05-24-2006, 06:37 PM
Fork Horn