Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

transition from field pts to muzzy 3 blade 100 gr question, generally speaking?

Old 05-04-2006, 07:55 PM
Fork Horn

Default transition from field pts to muzzy 3 blade 100 gr question, generally speaking?

I'm shooting very tight groups with an '05Mathews Outback, 29" 70#with Gold Tip hunter xt 5575's with tips. I have yet to screw in my muzzy 3 blade 100 grain broadheads and shoot. Should I expect a whole lot of difference with my results? I will try it this weekend. I participate on a number of different forums (boating, fishing, hunting etc) I have found this forum to be the most informative and the most forgiving. I'm a newbie, so please spare the wisecrack comments. As always, thanks for any and all help...
Old 05-04-2006, 07:58 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: transition from field pts to muzzy 3 blade 100 gr question, generally speaking?

...bow is new to me, that is why I haven't shot broadheads yet
Old 05-04-2006, 07:58 PM

Default RE: transition from field pts to muzzy 3 blade 100 gr question, generally speaking?

THe only problem i see is that your arrows are being launched from a matthews.SORRY
Old 05-04-2006, 08:07 PM
Super Moderator

Most likely they will shoot with your field points but I've noticed most if any change is needed that is usually made is lowering the nock point a hair....not just with Muzzys but most fixed blade heads. You'll just have to shoot and see if any changes in tune are needed. Let us know.
Old 05-04-2006, 08:09 PM

Expect to have to make adjustments when you switch over.

I tried everything I could think of last summer and couldn't get my broadheads (Muzzy 100 grn. 3-Blade) to hit with my fieldpoints. I eventually just sighted in for the broadheads and left it alone.

Perhaps things will be different for you.
Old 05-04-2006, 08:09 PM
Banned

ORIGINAL: newman1