Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

sims string leeches

Old 04-18-2006, 01:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default sims string leeches

I have the leeches on my Hoyt. I've heard they cost you speed. Then I read an article that said they actually gain 1 - 2 fps. I've heard people say their bow is no quieter with the leeches. Others say their bow is dramatically quieter. They do have the potential to hit you in the eye. Sims warns you to wear eye protection which nobody does while bowhunting. I shoot a heavier arrow and use the S coil stabilizer. What would happen if I took off my leeches?
Old 04-18-2006, 01:39 PM

Default RE: sims string leeches

Nothing catastrophic, try it and see.
Old 04-18-2006, 02:01 PM
Typical Buck

I have a Hoyt Razortec that I have been using without any leeches for 2 years. It shoots great and is very quiet.

I did however loose 2 fps when I took the leeches off. I found that to be a small compromise considering that if you happen to loose one leg off the leeches that your bow will shoot differently.
Old 04-18-2006, 02:42 PM

ORIGINAL: 98Redline

I have a Hoyt Razortec that I have been using without any leeches for 2 years. It shoots great and is very quiet.

I did however loose 2 fps when I took the leeches off. I found that to be a small compromise considering that if you happen to loose one leg off the leeches that your bow will shoot differently.
How will it shoot differently?
Old 04-19-2006, 02:27 PM
Dominant Buck

I like them. I have not noticed any real cost on speed. If any, its very little.
Old 04-19-2006, 08:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Spped loss is minimal. And they can add speed to the bow if you can get them close enough to the cam to act like speed balls. You can take them off the bow and try it. I already know what will happen. More vibration and more noise. Try it and find out. You have all summer to dick around with it.