Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

target league questions (long)

Old 02-03-2006, 10:03 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default target league questions (long)

Ok Guys bear with me as I'm pretty new to indoor leagues here.
A brief history:

I shoot in an indoor league at 20 yards with a 3 spot target shooting 60 arrows and a max score of 600.

My first league year was 2003 I shot in bowhunter c class and took 3rd
In 2004 I was in Bowhunter B class and didn't place.
in 2005 I was back in Bowhunter C class and won 1st place
This year I'm in BowhunterB class.
I don't pick classes or anything I guess the first couple of weeks qualify your class??

Anyway My questions are.
1)In bowhunter B class what are my limitations on equipment.I've been told it's a hunting set-up with a max stabilizer length of 10" and no magnification on sites. (I shoot my hunting bow listed in my signature)

2) this year after 4 league nites I have an average of 557. I think I would like to buy a target bow with all the goodies, long stabilizers, magnified sites, lower poundage, maybe even stabilizers out the grip side. You know all the bells and whistles. So i'm wonderring and I know it's a ballpark guess..but how much better would that make me? and is there a class for a beginner with unlimited equipment? Cuz I know out of the gate I couldn't compete with our unlimited guys. They get upset with anything less then perfect 600's. I scored for a guy tuesday who on his 1st shoot of the year shot 592 and he was one po'd mofo.

i know there is a competitive forum but replies are slow and most of you guys seem to shoot in leagues. Sorry for the lengthy post any comments are welcome.

Old 02-03-2006, 12:31 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: target league questions (long)

Ok mods feel free to kick it to a more appropriate forum.
Old 02-03-2006, 12:41 PM
Typical Buck