Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bow Storage???

Old 11-24-2005, 09:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Bow Storage???

I am brand new to hunting and just purchased my first bow lastweek.I live just outside Chicago so temperatures are already in the teens. I am planning on keeping it in my trunk all winter. Since I go to the range a few times per week. I am just wondering if it can cause any damage going from the cold trunk to using it right away while still freezing cold.
Old 11-25-2005, 07:09 AM

Default RE: Bow Storage???

why not keep it in your house? while cold is better than hot, i don't think i'd do that.
Old 11-25-2005, 08:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

I thought about that but I work real close to an indoor range so I will have many opportunities to go at any given time. This way I always have it with me. I am just worried that the cold mihgt damage it during my first few shots. Thanks!
Old 11-25-2005, 08:10 AM
Typical Buck

Do they have lockers or some where safe you could store your bow at the range?
Old 11-25-2005, 09:39 AM
Fork Horn

Even though you want to keep your bow ready at a moments notice so you can shoot, I would highly recommend that you not store it in your trunk. Put it somewhere with a controlled temperature, as if you don't, you could spend more time getting it fixed if something happens due to where it is stored. Then you wouldn't be shooting for awhile. In the end it is your bow, but in my opinion, you would be better off keeping it somewhere more controlled. Good luck.
Old 11-25-2005, 09:58 AM
Nontypical Buck