Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Hunting "Buddy"

Old 11-06-2005, 11:10 AM

Default Hunting "Buddy"

I'd like your opinion and feedback on this matter.....

I've been hunting this area on and off for a few years and have taken 2 bucks from these woods. I have a favorite tree and terrain feature I like to hunt. My buddy and some of my other Bowhunt camp friends have seen the bucks that I've brought home and always wanted to hunt this area but didn't want to drive that far.

Where they usually hunt they rarely see bucks and take does on a yearly basis...(we're only allowed one deer a year...be it a Whiteail, Muley, or Blacktail..Doe or Buck depending on your GMU)

They finally showed them whereI hunt. Well...I was in Alaska the year before and they hunted the area. My buddy nailed a 4x3 muley....no biggie. I congratulated him like anyone else would.

This last season opener we (4 of us)went over there and hunted this area. What I couldn't believe is thatmy "Buddy"set up between my stand and the bedding area where the cooridor is. To make it worse, he knew where my tree was and set up within eyeshot of me!

I was pissed about this and haven't said anything to him...not sure if I will as we've been friends for 25 years.

I know one thing...I will never let anyone know where I hunt, especially a core area. Iwouldn't mind if you show me a track of woods and let me do the legwork...but setting up knowing that the deer will move to where I've been set up for 5 or so years in a No No in my book......

Thoughts? Opinion? Remember.....Buddy's only half the word
Thanks
Old 11-06-2005, 11:17 AM

Default RE: Hunting "Buddy"