Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Busted leaving my stand

Old 10-06-2005, 06:39 PM

Default Busted leaving my stand

This is my first year hunting with my bow, I'm loving it. But I watched a fawn walk around me for about 15 mins, it finally walked away. So I waited 1 hour to leave my stand hoping that the fawn and mom, (who must be near by) to walk far enough away so I would not spook them. by this time it is pretty dark, after I got out of the treestand I saw a large deer and it saw me. My question is = Is my treestand now busted and should I move it? Thank you
Old 10-06-2005, 07:15 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Busted leaving my stand

welcome to the forum. no i would give it another try
Old 10-06-2005, 07:16 PM
Boone & Crockett

I wouldn't sweat it either. One sighting by one deer is not enough to ruin a stand.
Old 10-06-2005, 07:46 PM

i don't think them seeing your stand will hurt anything. Unless this becomes habbit. Even then I don't think it will matter.
Old 10-06-2005, 07:49 PM

YEP I WOULDN'T
ORIGINAL: PABowhntr

I wouldn't sweat it either. One sighting by one deer is not enough to ruin a stand.
Old 10-06-2005, 07:54 PM

No, it's not. There have been plenty of times where I've been hunting and I've shot at deer and missed and they've seen me but the same deerstill walk by it next time I'm up hunting.
Old 10-06-2005, 07:56 PM
Giant Nontypical

Everybody get's busted leaving their stand at night weather you know it or not. Just because you don't hear a deer blowing don't mean they don't see you. That is why it is important to have alot of different spots on the property you hunt if possible. Twice in a stand and I'm out of it for a few days.
Old 10-06-2005, 09:08 PM
Nontypical Buck