Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Ground blind, need a few tips

Old 10-04-2005, 04:50 PM
Typical Buck

Default Ground blind, need a few tips

I have located an area that is holding a good size buck based on the size trees he is rubbing. There is a heavy concentration of rubs in this area and the trees are large, so i feel good about the spot. the only trouble is, there are no trees suitable for a stand. The only option i see is a ground blind, which i have never done before. As you will see from my other post, the temps in florida are high and scent control is a real issue, but ground hunting is my only choice.

pls provide suggestions/tips for getting on this buck, particularly as it relates to setting up and hunting from the ground. The cover is pretty thick, though i have a few clear lanes that would permit a clear shot, so i thought i would set up with the wind in my favor, behind a bush or so.
Old 10-04-2005, 07:14 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Ground blind, need a few tips

Hi there, I have a lot of time oput in on hand made ground blinds. What you need to do is find an area that you have some good sight in several directions to your sides and in front of you. Try to pick a spot that you can take pieces of limbs and build a blind from natural material. Once the frame is done, then cut some foliage and place all around the blind. The idea is to hide yourself from the animal as so it cannot see you move and not at all from behind you. Hiding in the brush will work, but watch out behind yourself.
Old 10-04-2005, 07:38 PM
Boone & Crockett

Are we talking about installing a commercial blind or creating your own?
Old 10-05-2005, 03:30 AM
Typical Buck