Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Setting up close to bedding area.

Old 10-03-2005, 10:22 PM
Fork Horn

Default Setting up close to bedding area.

This is my first year hunting a new property and I know there are big bucks in the area. I know where a group of does have been been bedding in an over grown thicket/gass field. There is one small thick bush on one side, and another larger more open bush on the other edge. Normally I would set up and do a ground sit, but do to the grass height 3-4ft there isnt really a choice. I was thinking of hanging a tree stand 50 yrds into the open bush, approx 100-200yds away from where they bed. This will be a one shot stand and I would like to save it for a day on my week off (end of october) and do a dawn-dusk sit. Any suggestions about hanging the stand w/o disrupting the bedding area to much. My guess would be an hour or so before sunrise although im not keen about fumbling around in the area trying to hang a stand in the dark, 1-2 hrs after sunset hoping they have left to feed. Then I would be giving the stand a few weeks before my hunt. Any suggestions if this could be an option? I would love to see the action if I could get a stand up near these thickets, theres thick well used matted deer trails going through the grass.

One last thing to any of you bedding area hunters, when would the best time to enter my stand be for least risk of screwing up my full day hunt? It could be a little noisey going in before light, maybe wait just long enough to see where im stepping to keep noise minimum? Any ideas or help would be appreciated, thanks.

Heres a shed the owner found this spring. I held itup to my last yrs8pt buck that scored 96 to compare.I use to hunt a neighboring property and have missed a few opportunites at some nice ones.

Old 10-03-2005, 10:25 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Setting up close to bedding area.