Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

When is too late to set up bow stand??

Old 08-17-2005, 12:04 PM

Default When is too late to set up bow stand??

This is my first year to bow hunt. I am fairly new to deer hunting, as well, so this question may seem stupid, but would rather throw out the stupid question and get my first bow kill than throw the doughnut this year.

My gun area/feeder seems to be a pretty good/active spot for deer activity, but to put a ladder stand close to my feeder, I may have to make minor altercations to the tree close enough to put me in bow range, in order to put up the stand, cleara couple shooting alleys. When is too late to make those altercations? I'm hunting the first week of november. Anything else to keep in mind for the novice? Any advice is appreciated as I am jazzed to get my first with a bow!
Old 08-17-2005, 12:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: When is too late to set up bow stand??

Its never too late to put up a stand. If your thinking about putting the stand in the same area you should have no problem if your planning on hunting in November, especially if your hunting near a feeder. Just get in there and clear your spot, cutting somelanes, but not too many, and give it some time before you get in there to hunt. If you hunting near the feed, just let the feeder do its work and they will keep coming. If there are no adequate trees for the stand, hunt the travel lanes that lead into the area. One thing is for certain, you wont get your deer if your not in the woods, so get your stand up and good luck this season.
Old 08-17-2005, 12:54 PM
Typical Buck

It's too late when you get there without a stand on opening morning and realize you never hung your stand. Then and only then is it too late. But don't fret, you can go home, get your stand, go back and hang it.
Old 08-17-2005, 12:57 PM