Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

new bowhunter

Old 08-02-2005, 01:15 PM

Default new bowhunter

Hello,,i am fairly new to bow hunt,,started last year,,i was wonderin if y'alls got any good advise??
Old 08-02-2005, 01:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: new bowhunter

Hi, Welcome! The only advice that I can give you is practice as much as you can, all year long, in situations that you might find in the field (elevated in stands, kneeling, sitting, etc...), in the clothes that you might wear in the field. Other than that, if you are new to hunting, find someone that can mentor you.
Old 08-02-2005, 01:19 PM
Typical Buck

Visit these sites regularly and read the threads they are all full of advice.

Just make sure your boe is properly set up and tuned and you'll be off to a good start.
Old 08-02-2005, 01:24 PM

i have been practicing quite a been lately and have had troubles shoting consitinly,,any advise there
Old 08-02-2005, 01:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

When I run into that problem, I lay off for a few days or a week. It is amazing, when I do that how much my groups will shrink the next time I shoot my bow. As far as forum advice, you will get good and bad advice, a lot of opinion that may or may not be valid. That is why I suggest you get someone that can mentor you "hands-on". If you have a bowhunting or archery club in the area, that is a good start. I don't shoot in 3-d tournaments, but I've heard they help beginners.
Old 08-02-2005, 01:29 PM

ORIGINAL: PSEsilverhawk55

i have been practicing quite a been lately and have had troubles shoting consitinly,,any advise there
Shoot less frequently and for shorter periods of time.

If you shoot 50 - 80 arrows one day, shoot 15 - 20 the next or skip that day completely.