Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Draw weight for a newbie

Old 07-11-2005, 06:24 PM

Default Draw weight for a newbie

In my studying I have learned that a bow can be dialed down in draw weight from 70 lb. max to 60,61,62 etc... but it is most efficient dialed all the way up. I know I am strong enough toshoot a 70 pounder but as a newbie I would think I should learn and develop proper forrn and acccuracy with a lighter bow. What do you guys think of buying a 70 pounder but setting it in the low sixties and down the road retuning it to 70, is this a bad idea? Also what is the effective range of a 60 vs 70 pounder for a decent sized white tail? That would be the big plus of a 70 vs. 60 for me more effective range plus bigger game. The bow I have in mind is a Diamond Rapture at a 28 inch draw and 70 lb. draw weight orderd from Huntersfriend.com at 60 lbs. Thanks.

Metro
Old 07-11-2005, 06:39 PM

Default RE: Draw weight for a newbie

60# would be a good starting point. You want to be comfortable shooting it for an hour or so. Being new you want to work on form more than anything so going down in weight is better. When your broke in you can adjust the weight up. JMO. Good luck.
Old 07-11-2005, 06:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

My personal opinion is , if your going to buy a 70lb bow and shoot it at 60lbs , then your better off buying a 50-60lb bow and getting the maximum performance from it. For whitetail hunting (or any NA big game), there's nothing that a 70lb bow can do that a 60lb bow cant. The second most important factor in setting yourself up for hunting is arrow selection. The first and most important , is being comfortable with your draw weight.
Old 07-11-2005, 07:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would sit down and turn to one side and draw. If you can do it comfortably then use that weight.
Old 07-11-2005, 07:08 PM