Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

String Leech Users?

Old 09-20-2002, 09:54 PM

Default String Leech Users?

I installed Sims String Leeches on the bowstring of my Mathews Q2 but noticed little if any reduction in string noise!

For those of you who use Sims String Leeches: What type of bow do you have? Where on the string did you install your string leeches? Did you put them closer to the middle of the string and the nock or out closer to the axles? I think the type of string and location on the string may be an important factor in the performance of the string leeches! Some swear by the leeches, while others curse them. There's got to be a logical explanation for this! Could it just be a defective batch of string leeches?
Old 09-20-2002, 11:49 PM

Default RE: String Leech Users?

I am not an expert by any means, but I can try to answer your questions with my observations.
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote<font size=1 face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica' id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>What type of bow do you have?<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica' size=2 id=quote>
I have string leeches installed on my Buckmaster HyperTech. I don't know if it will help you, but I also have the split-limb limbsavers installed.

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica' id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>Where on the string did you install your string leeches?<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face='Verdana, Arial, Helvetica' size=2 id=quote>I don't have my bow or my notebook handy, so I can't give you any exact measurements. I can say that the leeches are located as far out on the bowstring as I could get them. I have not tried moving the positions around to see if I gained or lost a lot of noise.