Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Mathews Z7

Old 12-07-2009, 07:39 PM
Spike

Default Mathews Z7

First off I want to say that i'm new to bow hunting, and really had no idea about them.
Went to the local Gander mountain to try a few bows and see if I liked anything I ended up shooting the Stud and the Iceman. The stud was the first bow I have ever shot so I really had nothing to compare it to at the time. From there I shot the Iceman which I liked much more then the Stud. The man at Gander said the Iceman would be a little harder to draw because of the limb design, but it was not noticable to me.
From there I went to a local bow shop and shot the Hoyt Maxxis 31.
I really liked the bow and thought it would be the one to get. It seemed very smooth and quiet. The only thing I did not like was there seemed to be just as much vibration as the other bows I had shot. I also shot the PSE Bow Madness and did not like the feel of the bow.
The last bow I shot was the new Mathews Z7. In my limited experience I think it was in a class by itself. There was absolutely no vibration and the bow seemed to balance exceptionally in my hand. I decided it was the bow I wanted even before I looked at the sticker. To my delight they were having a Christmas sale on bows and it was 20% off. Bow ended up being $675.

I know that my opinions have no experience to back them up but by what I felt today I think the Z7 will be an incredible bow.

Lastly what arrows do you reccomend shooting the guy at the bow shop was telling me about an arrow that had an aluminum outside and carbon inside anyone heard of them and have an opinion I believe they were easton.

Last edited by Flatspin; 12-07-2009 at 07:51 PM.
Old 12-09-2009, 05:15 AM
Giant Nontypical

I will be buying a Z7 this off season... shot it the other day and absolutely fell in love w/ it.