Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

t/c hawken

Old 12-13-2004, 05:58 PM
Fork Horn

Default t/c hawken

I was wonderin if any of you guys shoot or know anyone who shoots a T/C hawken 50 cal flintlock. I was wonderin what kinda groups you guys shoot and how far. I'm shootin 85 gr of triple f and aint doing to bad out to 40yds but haven't tried ne farther yet. So if you guys could fill me in how you guys do with this gun and how many grains of powder you shoot i would greatly appreciate it
Old 12-13-2004, 06:07 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: t/c hawken

I'm sorry fellas but I'm shooting a Renegade not the Hawken..
Old 12-13-2004, 06:50 PM
Dominant Buck

I shoot a T/C .50 caliber Hawkins Flintlock. The Renegade has 2" shorter barrel is all. I have been shooting 75 grains of Goex FFFg and a patched roundball also some 245 grain Ball-et with excellent results.

I am still learning the art of flintlocks, so I have never really been shooting for extreme groups yet. Now one fellow on this board named Roundball is a T/C flintlock expert in my opinion. When I have problems this is who I ask. I am sure he will comment here, and answer all your questions....
Old 12-14-2004, 08:29 AM
Giant Nontypical