Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Need some more advice!

Old 08-26-2004, 06:21 PM
Typical Buck

Default Need some more advice!

As I have stated in another post, I'm new to MLing, so please bare with a dummy. First off, is there a book or web site I can get info on the powders for muzzle loading, that will explain the differences between each.

One thing I have read from some of the post, is that Triple 7 loads needs to be reduce. Is this to say, that three fifty grain T7 pellets are more powerful than three 50 grain pellets of pyrodex, etc. The instructions that came with my rifle doesn't say anything about this, it just says I can use up to 150 grains. To be honest, I'm hesitate to use 150 of any of them right now because of my ignorance in this area.

Thanks,
dog1
Old 08-26-2004, 07:26 PM

Default RE: Need some more advice!

IMO, there is no need to load 150 grains when 100 will probably do the job and more accurately, unless you're shooting a moose at 200 yds. What kind of gun are you using?
Old 08-26-2004, 08:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Only the loose powder 777 is more powerful (about 15%). Pellets are equal. In other words:
100 grains 777 pellets = 100 grains pyrodex pellets
100 grains 777 powder = 115 grains pyrodex.

You can use 3 pellets of 777 in your gun, but NOT 150 grains of loose powder!

Do a search on using 777 and you will find that most people use loose powder because it is cheaper and easier to customize a load. Most people start at about 85 grains 777 and work up to maybe 110 grains. There is really no reason to go higher in my opinion.

I will be hunting elk this fall with 95 grains 777 and a 405 grain powerbelt. Plenty of power for an elk. As noted earlier, this load is about equivalent to 110 grains of pyrodex.

If you already have pellets, I would start with 100 grains and see what happens. Me, I only shoot loose powder.
Old 08-26-2004, 09:24 PM
Dominant Buck