Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Newbie needs advise (Another Question)

Old 08-24-2004, 09:39 AM
Fork Horn

Default Newbie needs advise (Another Question)

OK,

I am relatively new to BP shooting. I have learned the hard way about cleaning out the oil before loading, and about hang fires. My question, how do you guys keep things dry in bad weather? I do not understand the condom on the barrel. If I put one on my CVA or my Thompson (both are side locks, no scope), it would cover over the front sight and make it impossible to aim/shoot. In addition, wouldn’t it interfere with the trajectory of the bullet (Powerbelt 348 .54cal)?

What am I missing here?
Old 08-24-2004, 10:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Newbie needs advise

the condom will do the trick but I think its cabelas but it may be bass pro but they actually sell barrel covers that look like a condom but there smaller so they dont cover the sight and a single strip of electrical tape will actually do just fine, your only worry is going to be your action and cabeals or bass pro sells something to cover that to its like a water proofing kit
Old 08-24-2004, 10:34 AM

bnhcomputing,

Hunting in the rain with a ML, is not an easy task. There are ML's, like the Knight Disc Extreme, that claim they kepp the moisture out but once the charge gets wet, nothing will happen. This happened to a friend of mine once. He was hunting out of a tree stand with an inline, when it started to rain. He already had the gun loaded, with black powder and using a 209 primer. When a doe walked under his tree stand, he took aim, poof, the primer went off and that was it. So, he loaded another primer, poof, and no ka boom, only the primer went off again. Even though no water went down the barrell, the black powder absorbed the moisture and it would not go off. BP does absorb moisture right out of the air.