Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Sabot question

Old 08-09-2004, 11:31 PM

Default Sabot question

I'm new to ML and plan on using the Hornady XTP bullet/sabot combo. Problem is, some of these use 50 cal sabots and 44 cal bullets, while I think I've seen others use 45 cal bullets...I guess both can be used, but is one better than the other? Any comments on the Hornady XTP?

Thanks in advance-
Old 08-10-2004, 12:01 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Sabot question

what I look for more then the caliber of the bullet is the diameter. Are they a .429-.430 or .451-.452 that will determine the sabot you use. Also depending on the brand of your rifle, some sabots fit better then others.

A good all around starting sabot to try in your rifle are the Thompson Center mag express with the XTP bullet. They seem to shoot well and load easy. Also Thompson Center Cheapshots are a real good shooting sabot in most cases. Of course there are Thompson Center Shockwaves in 250 grain and 300 grain. The 250 grain seem most popular. Shockwaves are the same thing as the Hornday SST.

If you want to shoot the Hornady XTP's make sure you get the right sabot. I found that the Harvester Sabots seem to load well in most my rifles as do the Mag Express sabots. Also there are sabots that are for projectile 300 grains and under and then some are for the 300 grain and over. So make sure you look the sabots over and match them to your bullets or your going to have some strange groups and hard loading ahead of you....
Old 08-10-2004, 12:08 AM
Giant Nontypical