Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

break in

Old 07-30-2004, 03:17 PM

Default break in

i will be picking up my new omega thumbhole ml and was want some advise on the break in procedure
Old 07-30-2004, 03:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: break in

Clean it...load it...shoot it...clean it...load it...shoot it...clean it...load it...shoot some more...take it home and clean it...repeat often

I'm just being funny, I really don't know. Anyone else?
(I'm new to this too)
Good luck!
Old 07-30-2004, 03:39 PM
Dominant Buck

The break in of any rifle will vary. First and foremost, read the instruction manual that comes with the rifle. This will tell you the do's and do not's.

First thing is to clean the rifle and know all the parts. Some rifles come out of the box and need no tuning. The only way to determine this is to shoot them. So go shoot it. The Omega is a great rifle. Get some T/C Cheapshots 240 grain and go have some fun. This is a time to see how the recoil of the rifle feels, and the balance, how the sight picture looks to you, and generally you will be forming your impressions of how you like shooting the rifle. Put 100 grains of powder behind the CheapShots and let her rip. I would personally shoot loose Triple Se7en or Pyrodex for the first powder charges. Remember, loose Triple Se7en is 15% stronger then Pyrodex so you might want to start those charges out around 90 grains.

The big thing is to get some rounds through the rifle and see how it acts. See what kind of accuracy your getting. Check your sabots that you recover and look to see if there are stress marks on the. (I am sure there will not be). Be sure and swab between shots.
Old 07-30-2004, 05:11 PM
Nontypical Buck