Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

faster ignition?

Old 01-11-2004, 09:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default faster ignition?

i shoot a tc 50 cal flintlock hawken...now i shot with 90grs of 2fg goex and prime with 4fg.....but 3fg burns faster correct? wouldnt using 3fg in the barrel as the main charge speed up ignition since it burns faster then 2fg? im new to BP and was just thinking....it makes sense to me.....but is it the truth?? anyone use 2fg then swith to 3fg and notice a nice diffrence? my gun goes off pretty quick...but there is that time when the powder is burning that could be faster....would 3fg be faster?? just me....thinking as always.....thanx
Old 01-11-2004, 11:18 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: faster ignition?

There are lots of people that shoot FFFg as their main charge in .50 caliber sidelocks. Some claim the powder does burn faster and it does produce more pressure in the barrel, so you have some load adjustment in most cases. I have shot Pyrodex P a number of times in my .50 caliber Hawkins, and it shot excellent. If you get a chance to get your hands on some I say give it a shot and see what you think. With all the sales on powder going on right now, this is the time to get a pound or two...
Old 01-12-2004, 06:47 AM
Fork Horn

Mauser,
I lived in Pa. and hunted with flintlocks for many years--still hunt there in flintlock season every year.
When I began, the most common load for 50 cal round ball seemed to be 90 gr. ffg, so that's where I started. In my old TC Hawken, I got reliable ignition--after I replaced the crappy TC frizzen with a Lyman--got pretty fair accuracy and killed deer quickly.
I have two flintlocks, and both have very fast ignition. The key, I have discovered is to use a good frizzen, a good sharp flint, and not overloading the pan with powder.