Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Dumb Question

Old 07-05-2014, 05:44 AM
Spike

Default Dumb Question

I am new to muzzleloading and trying to figure out what is the best combination of powder/patch/ball or sabot to use in my lyman trade rifle. Do they sell pre-packaged loads of certain amount of blackpowder/bullet/patch that you can just drop down the barrel or do you need to purchase each component separately? Thanks.
Old 07-05-2014, 05:58 AM
Giant Nontypical

You'll need to buy everything separately. You'll need to decide if you want to shoot sabots, conicals, or round balls. More than likely the sabots won't shoot that well in your gun. It has the wrong twist in rifling.

What game are you hunting, and what state will you hunt? The states have different laws on what you can shoot with muzzleloaders.
Old 07-05-2014, 06:19 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by Muley Hunter
You'll need to buy everything separately. You'll need to decide if you want to shoot sabots, conicals, or round balls. More than likely the sabots won't shoot that well in your gun. It has the wrong twist in rifling.

What game are you hunting, and what state will you hunt? The states have different laws on what you can shoot with muzzleloaders.

I am hunting deer in PA. Its a .50 cal. Any suggestions on what would be some good patch/bullet/load combos to start with? Hoping to limit the cost of trying a bunch of different stuff. Thanks.
Old 07-05-2014, 06:22 AM
Giant Nontypical

How far would your longest shot be on deer? Doesn't PA have a flintlock season? Is your gun a flintlock, or caplock?
Old 07-05-2014, 06:44 AM
Giant Nontypical

We need the answers to these questions, before a load can be suggested. Even then, you're going to have to experiment a bit to find out what your gun likes.
Old 07-05-2014, 08:12 AM
Dominant Buck