Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Round ball in a modern in-line?

Old 12-10-2010, 02:49 PM
Spike

Default Round ball in a modern in-line?

I just bought a new Accura. I am new to BP and have only shot powerbelts and sabots. I am aware of the varied opinions about Powerbelts.

Can I shoot round ball with a patch in this Accura? What size round ball?

Oh yeah, and what is a conical? Just an elliptical not so "round" ball?
Old 12-10-2010, 03:10 PM
Dominant Buck

Originally Posted by temphank
I just bought a new Accura. I am new to BP and have only shot powerbelts and sabots. I am aware of the varied opinions about Powerbelts.

Can I shoot round ball with a patch in this Accura? What size round ball?

Oh yeah, and what is a conical? Just an elliptical not so "round" ball?
yes you can but do not load a lot of powder under them. If you do, they can skip the rifling and the accuracy will suffer. Use a .490 roundball and a .015 patch with a good lube.

A conical is a full bore sized projectile. Where no patch or sabot is used. A powerbelt is a conical. A maxiball is a conical. A great plains is a conical. You do not patch a conical bullet. Just apply lube to the out side of the ones that need a lube.
Old 12-11-2010, 12:34 AM
Spike

I thought the Powerbelt used the plastic base as a "slipper" and the bullet didn't make contact with the bore rifling. Is that wrong? Do the other conicals then sort of mash a little ( very little ) into the rifling to get a good seal?
Old 12-11-2010, 02:02 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by temphank
I thought the Powerbelt used the plastic base as a "slipper" and the bullet didn't make contact with the bore rifling. Is that wrong? Do the other conicals then sort of mash a little ( very little ) into the rifling to get a good seal?