Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Powder measure suggestions needed

Old 10-25-2010, 09:00 AM
Fork Horn

Default Powder measure suggestions needed

I have a tc omega and am currently shooting two 50gr triple 7 pellets behind a 250gr shockwave. Results have been good out to 150 with iron sights(keepin' it in a paper plate at 150), but I would like to experiment with this blackhorn that I have heard word of. I like the shockwave and for now will stick with this bullet.

I have no experience with loose powder and need some powder measure suggestions and guidance. Does anyone make a measure that is adjustable from say 75 - 150 grains and will drop the entire powder amount in one motion?? Can I get this measure in a model that holds more than one of these charges, say for follow up shots in the field??

I hope this has showcased how much of a rookie I am at this, and I appreciate any help offered.

Andy
Old 10-25-2010, 11:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

The TC U-View is what I use. It is easy to adjust and measure. It only goes to 120 grains which is the maximum amount most will use for BH209.
Old 10-25-2010, 11:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by hubby11
The TC U-View is what I use. It is easy to adjust and measure. It only goes to 120 grains which is the maximum amount most will use for BH209.

+1. I use it most b/c it's the only one I have. But I like it...I can't imagine one much better. Not sure how durable it is, but it has been fine for me and seems pretty sturdy.