Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

A test of humility

Old 09-30-2010, 12:38 PM
Dominant Buck

Default A test of humility

In a different thread, we got into a bit of a discussion about shooting off hand. I am the first to admit that I am not that good at it. One reason I hunt from blinds, tree stands and places where I have something to lean into or on. Enough said.

To put my money where my mouth is, I used 3x5 index cards. On these cards I drew an X. I taped them to a target and using a range finder, set them at exactly 25 yards according to my range finder.

• Rifle: .50 caliber Lyman Trade Rifle 1-48 twist
  • Powder: Goex 3f 70 grains Goex 4f used at the primer
  • Projectile: home cast roundball .490 diameter 177 grains (give or take) and a .018 100% cotton Pillow Tick patch with moose milk.
  • Sights: Open and primitive style
  • Distance: 25 yards
  • Weather: in the 60's and very windy, but sunny. Blue sky. The wind was going left to right.
Prior to testing, I swabbed the barrel with an alcohol patch and then a dry one. I wiped the pan, frizzen, and flint off. This would be the last time I swabbed the rifle for the entire test. To be fair to the test, I decided to shoot one shot at the bottom of the targets to check the sights, my skills, and the ignition times.

And so the first part of the test would start. I flipped a coin and the bench rest won. So I started on the bench rest.

My free shot at the bottom confirmed the sights were dead on. Ignition was a little slow. I checked the flint and it was loose. The Thomas Fuller English flint was tightened. I then shot three more. As for the group I really could not ask for more.