Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

What's in your possibles bag?

Old 03-31-2010, 04:22 PM
Spike

Default What's in your possibles bag?

Interested in seeing what's carried in some of your possibles bags. Any pics? This is my first year with a smokepole, and I have all the basics needed, but am interested to see what some of you experienced fellers take into the field...
Old 03-31-2010, 04:44 PM
Dominant Buck

What is in my bag depends on where I am hunting and how I am hunting. I carry a fanny pack. The fanny pack has three compartments. One (the center which is a hand warmer) holds a quart of water. The back one holds a GPS, compass, matches, candle, alcohol, patches and binoculars. The front one holds my tubes of powder, and my container of projectiles along with some patches.

My jacket pockets also carry a lot of gear.

Now if I were going to a shoot, I take my possible bag which has tools to break the rifle down, caps, primers, capper, de capper, short starter, powder tubes, projectiles, patches, etc..
Old 03-31-2010, 05:46 PM
Boone & Crockett

Most of my hunting is on a 900 acre hunting lease. I'm never more than a mile or so from camp, so I don't need much. I use a small zipper top, belt mounted pouch with the essentials for a morning or evening hunt - a few loads in powder tubes from LandNebraska, a few cleaning patches in a plastic box or old musket cap tin, some basic tools, pipe cleaners, and alcohol swabs. If I plan to be out all day I use a small backpack with some lunch/snacks/liquid and an extra jacket and socks.

Old 03-31-2010, 05:57 PM
Giant Nontypical

Not sure if you are thinking about inlines or sidelocks but here is what I carry to keep my flintlocks working...