Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Muzzleloader recommendation for Washington State

Old 12-02-2009, 07:47 AM
SDK
Spike

Default Muzzleloader recommendation for Washington State

Hey All-

I'm looking to buy a rifle to hunt with in Washington, and need some recommendations as I am completely new to black powder. Links to or descriptions of specific models are welcome. I need it to be .50 caliber as that is a minimum for elk in this state. Here are the Washington state Muzzloader regulations:

Muzzleloading firearms are loaded from the muzzle and use black powder or a black powder substitute. Muzzleloading firearms must be wheel lock, matchlock, flintlock, or percussion lock. A percussion lock firearm must use original-style percussion caps that fit on the nipple and are exposed to the weather. “Exposed to the weather” means the percussion cap or the frizzen must be visible and cannot be covered or enclosed by an integral part of the weapon proper. Telescopic sights are not allowed.

Muzzleloading firearms for deer hunting must be at least .40 caliber. However, buckshot, size #1 or larger, may be used in a smoothbore of .60 caliber or larger.

Muzzleloading firearms for other big game (elk) must be at least .50 caliber, or must fire a round ball or bullet of at least 170 grains

As you can see, I am limited to more primitive rifles with open sights. I'm actually fine with this and looking forward to the challenge. I'm looking for one rifle to handle deer through Elk, and want to keep it below $500...

Thanks in advance...
Scott
Old 12-02-2009, 08:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Check the link I posted near the end of the Inlines thread

http://www.openseasongear.com/Whitet...S_p/000031.htm

Worth a try - you'll like it. It would be set up for musket caps but you can get #11 plugs if desired.
Old 12-02-2009, 08:22 AM
SDK
Spike