Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Help for a rookie with TC Omega - It Worked!!

Old 09-07-2009, 08:59 AM
Typical Buck

Default Help for a rookie with TC Omega - It Worked!!

I'm new to the ML world as I purchased an Omega with the Cabelas Powder Horn scope about a month ago. Thus far I've made three trips to the range and and can't get any consistent groups.

I've been reading all of the post and have simply been confused by all the differing opinions.

Here's what I've done so far:

250 Shockwave's with yellow sabots
90 - 110 grns of loose T7
TC Primers
double wet patch and double dry patch between shots

Tried 245 grn Barnes MZ's with HPH 24's
all other components the same. Same results

My groups hit in a 6 - 10 " diameter at 100 meters. When I feel like I'm close, I have a flyer. No consistency at all.

I try to load with the same pressure each time. I take my time between shots for barrel cooling. I'm benched up with bags and shoot very tight groups with a variety of center fire rifles I own.

I'd like to be able to hunt with this gun but I have no confidence at this time. Any ideas to tighten things up?

Last edited by Josmund; 09-26-2009 at 02:04 PM. Reason: Updated Thread
Old 09-07-2009, 09:33 AM
Typical Buck

Check your stock to barrel and action fit. My Omega has the synthetic stock and it touched the barrel causing a lot of inconsistency in shots. Also check the front mounting lug. Mine was loose and the screw could not be tightened which required shortening the screw. Make sure that the T7 crud ring is getting removed between shots. On my Omega just using a wet patch would not remove it. Mine required brass brush work between shots which is why I no longer use T7. Double check the scope mounts also.
Old 09-07-2009, 10:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

1) Check scope mounts
2) Remove action from stock, check all lug screws and screws in the action to make sure they're tight