Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

bullets continued

Old 01-02-2009, 05:24 PM
Spike

Default bullets continued

After reading the thread on fragmentation I hateto itsay but I'm as confused as ever. I'm only in my second year with a muzzle loader and was going to try the Nosler Partition 300g XTP over 100g of BH209. I want a bullet that fragments very little but expands and gives me a pass through. I don't want to start an argument but what bullets in particular do hold together and perform well on marginal shots?
Old 01-02-2009, 05:27 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: bullets continued

That nosler will expand perfect and not fragment. I think you will be real happy with it.
Old 01-02-2009, 05:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: loadbreak

After reading the thread on fragmentation I hateto itsay but I'm as confused as ever. I'm only in my second year with a muzzle loader and was going to try the Nosler Partition 300g XTP over 100g of BH209. I want a bullet that fragments very little but expands and gives me a pass through. I don't want to start an argument but what bullets in particular do hold together and perform well on marginal shots?
The Nosler Partition 300g is an excellent bullet that hold together very well. There are two Noslers, the Nosler HG 300g:

https://www.midsouthshooterssupply.com/item.asp?sku=0011545350

and the 300g Nosler Rifle Bullet:

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/product/standard-item.jsp?_DARGS=/cabelas/en/common/catalog/item-link.jsp_A&_DAV=MainCatcat602007-cat20843&id=0009895213950a&navCount=2& podId=0009895&parentId=cat20843&masterpath id=&navAction=push&catalogCode=IJ&rid= &parentType=index&indexId=cat20843&has JS=true

I use the HG (Hand Gun) for deer. Sabotloader uses the 260g Rifle bullet for deer. The HG is .451 diameter, the rifle bullet is .458 diameter.