Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Sometimes I gotta scratch my head

Old 12-27-2008, 05:06 PM
Spike

Default Sometimes I gotta scratch my head

I have been hunting deer with a shot gun/bow and arrow for about 38 years. Just started using a muzzleloader these past 2 years, now the Rem. 1100 has been retired for deer. We still use it for ducks though.I used to and still do use my bow during primative arms season here in Massachusetts if I have my meat for the year. Here in Mass. we cannot use a break open muzzy. So I purchased an Omegatwo years ago. I have harvested 5 deer in the last 2 years. My brother and I still pause in awe after we witness the lethal damage these muzzys do on deer. My current Omega is set up with a .430 240grxtp in a green crushed rib sabot over 90 gr 777 ff. All 5 deer were shot from 30yds to about 70yds. All complete pass throughs. All deer dead on the run, which was not far. Blood everywhere. Awesome!! Well, being bit by the bug, I just purchased, 3 weeks go, another Omega in Black/weathershield. I also picked up 2 bottles of B209 to use, or try, in Omega #2. I have not fired a shot from that gun yet because of time restraints.
Now I am one of those, if it's not broke, don't fix it kind of guys. I have to admit that aside from the crud ring, I do not have any issues with 777.
It is very accurate
I have never had a misfire or hang fire
Never had an issue with a frozen breech plug
I do swab between shots, never had to take 2 shots though
I never leave a load in for more than a couple of days
I am meticulous about cleaning

With all that being said, because of our human nature being of a somewhat curious nature, wanted to try B209 in Omega #2.