Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Muzzleloader scope choice?

Old 12-20-2008, 08:41 PM

Default Muzzleloader scope choice?

I am looking at buying a T/C Triumph and am wonder what scope would be the best choice? Well Im at it, what about loads, powders, cleaners, etc. I am a newbie to the muzzleloader scene. Any help would be great. Thanks
Old 12-20-2008, 09:42 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Muzzleloader scope choice?

When someone asks what's the best scope or load, its helpful to know what they expect to encounter when they hunt.

For instance if you hunt in the woods and your shots are under 100 yards.. a good scope might bea Nikon 2-7x32mm Pro Staff or a Bushnell 3200 2-7x32mm. These have great eye relief and great glass. There are other scopes of course that would fit this. The Leupold Ultimate Slam and Swift makes a good scope as well I was told. Like I said, there are lots of them. If the shots are real close, a simple 4x scope would handle the job.

But lets say your shooting across fields at say 200 yards. Then you might want to invest in something like a Nikon Omega with a BDC so you can make those long shots. You might want a 3-9x40mm for those long shots.

As for projectiles, and powders.. BlackHorn 209 is a good powder but it has it's little quirks. Triple Seven is a great powder. Pyrodex RS is a great powder. It all depends on what you want or do not want to do. And as for projectiles.. again, how far you want to shoot? What are you going to do when you hunt...

But let us know what kind of hunting experience you encounter...
Old 12-21-2008, 06:20 AM

I will have shot opportunies up to 250yrds across a corn field. The gun will be setup for michigan whitetail for the gun season and muzzleloader season. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 12-21-2008, 07:10 AM
Dominant Buck