Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Your swabbing/cleaning/preparation procedures?

Old 12-04-2008, 05:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Your swabbing/cleaning/preparation procedures?

I'm still getting into this whole ML world. I'm trying to absorb as much information as I can. I was wondering if you guys could type out what your swabbing procedures are when you go shooting and prior to a hunt... Like, do you do anything special to the ML when you get to the range? How many primers do you pop off to foul? What do you use to swab the bore between shots? How many times do you swab between shots? What do you use and what are your procedures for cleaning when you're done shooting? What procedures do you follow before a hunt?

Any and all tips are encouraged and would be greatly apreciated. Thanks!!!
Old 12-04-2008, 06:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Your swabbing/cleaning/preparation procedures?

ORIGINAL: SWThomas

I'm still getting into this whole ML world. I'm trying to absorb as much information as I can. I was wondering if you guys could type out what your swabbing procedures are when you go shooting and prior to a hunt... Like, do you do anything special to the ML when you get to the range? How many primers do you pop off to foul? What do you use to swab the bore between shots? How many times do you swab between shots? What do you use and what are your procedures for cleaning when you're done shooting? What procedures do you follow before a hunt?

Any and all tips are encouraged and would be greatly apreciated. Thanks!!!
In my Omega and Knight Disc with 777 I swabbed at the range with alchol and windshield washer fluid then a dry patch between each and every shot, but when I am hunting, because the swabs dry out I use a swab of TC bore butter, which allows me to shoot a Nosler Partition with a Crushed rib sabot accurately.