Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

223 Grain Powerbelt for deer?

Old 11-18-2007, 06:02 PM

Default 223 Grain Powerbelt for deer?

I am new to black powder Hunting. I have a traditions muzzle loader with a Leupold 2x7 scope on it. I think it is an Evoluttion. Any ways I was using a 223 grain Powerbeltbullet And shot a1.5 year old deerat about 30 yards. I am using 100 grains 777 pellets. I lost this deer Blood trail crossed another deers blood trail. It was a mess anyways. Is a 223 grain Powerbelt bullet heavy enough for deer? What bullet type and wiegth would be reccomnended?MOst of my deer kills are within 20 to 75 yards.

Thanks
Old 11-18-2007, 06:51 PM

Default RE: 223 Grain Powerbelt for deer?

Yeah its perfect. You need to go with loose powder though. 80 grains pyrodex RS or P or 80 grains triple 7 will put that deer in its tracks. I used a 225 powerbelt and 80 grains triple 7 and put it through both shoulders.

You'll get a lot of NO NO! dont use it! It will fragment.
I personally hunt with these bullets and know what powder charges work best. Stick with around 80 grains triple 7 or pyrodex and that deer is going down.
Heres a pic of the deer i shot at 80 yards with the 225 powerbelt. Take note to the shot placement and remember that in the field when you put your sights on a deer....
This one didnt go more than 5 yards before rolling down the mountain stone cold dead.

Old 11-18-2007, 07:04 PM

So the pellets are not the way to go? It is so easy For me being a beginer. Sounds like the Powerbelt I was using is good enough. I do not think I got blow through on my shot. I did not find any blood until it took about 50 steps. It jumped and kicked liked I hit it. Then it ran with out flagging me.
Old 11-18-2007, 07:16 PM