Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

TC Omega - Load Combinations????

Old 11-07-2007, 11:13 AM
Spike

Default TC Omega - Load Combinations????

Hello

I am brand new to muzzleloading. I recently purchased a Thompson Center Omega and thought I would ask those who have the same muzzy what powder/bullet combinations work best for them. I am thinking about using my new Omega for the opening firearm season so I don't have a lot of time to experiment. As bad as I want a scope I don't think I will be ableget it in time for the first season. I have shot it using 2-pellets of Triple Seven and the Shockwave sabots that came with the gun. I believe they were were 250 or 300 grain. I also tried 2-pellets of Triple Seven with Powerbelt Aerotip 245 grain bullets. Although I have tried these combinations I haven't shot it enough to say one is better than the other. I am going to get out this weekend and shoot again. Do you feel that a heavier grain bullet is better? Say a 295 Grain Powerbelt Aerotip? If you could enlighten me on what has worked best for your Omega I would appreciate it.

Thanks
Old 11-07-2007, 11:26 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: TC Omega - Load Combinations????

Welcome to the forum it is good to have you here..

What will work in your Omega is hard to say. I have a Black Diamond XR. Same barrel, but different action. With loose powder I shoot 110 grains of Pyrodex RS or Goex and a 250 grain Shockwave with excellent accuracy. With pellets, I actually got good accuracy with three pellets and a 250 grain Shockwave. It also does well with just two pellets.

I would stick with the 2 pellet so of Triple Se7en and a 200, 250, or 300 grain Shockwave. You could also try some 240 & 300 grain T/C Mag Express XTP's. They should shoot well. Nosler, Speer, Barnes, Parker, are also good choices. As for powerbelts, while your rifle will shoot them, I would stick with a sabot load.