Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Best Bullet

Old 06-23-2007, 10:33 AM
DCN
Spike

Default Best Bullet

Hello Guys,
I'm new to the forum - great site. I hunt with a T/C Omega .50 cal. I've been shooting Powerbelt bullets for several years. The only thing I've hunted with this rifle is elk and have shot the 295 gr. aerotips. I like how easy the bullets are to load and have gotten pretty good grouping with 130 grains of pyrodex in pellets. I've shot 2 elk with my Omega and haven't been real happy with the bullet performance - they don't seem to hold up to heavy game. The last bull I shot I hit in the front shoulder. The bullet shattered the joint, but didn't penetrate after that. In fairness, hitting a major joint on an elk is a pretty major bullet stopper, but I wanted to get thoughts on these bullets. This year I'm hunting mule deer with the rifle - just wanted to get thoughts on what people prefer to shoot. Thanks.
Old 06-23-2007, 10:45 AM

Default RE: Best Bullet

to light of a bullet, thats why. CVA recommends a 348 + grainer powerbelt on elk and a 245 or 295 on deer sized game.
Old 06-23-2007, 11:39 AM
Boone & Crockett

DCN

First off I have to tell you I am completely biased... period.

I shoot the same rifle and I think the best bullet bar none is the Nosler partion (if you can shoot saboted bullets). now that statement will draw a lot of flack, but I have been using them for over 40 years now.

For elk I shoot a .451 300 grain Nosler Partition in an MMP HPH-24 sabot - I load this in my Omega with thumb pressure and followed with the ram rod. If you want an easier loading combination, use the MMP HPH-3p EZ loading loading sabot. MY Omega, which is an older model, right after they came out, and has a little more bore diameter than most I guess, becuse I canalso load a .458(45/70) 300 grain Nosler Partition in an Orange MMP .458/50 cal sabot.