Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Good Deer Load?

Old 03-24-2007, 06:19 PM

Default Good Deer Load?

Spent the day at the range with my new (to me)T/C Black diamond. I was shooting 250 gr and 300 gr sabots. Both shoot very well, but since I'm new to this I'd like to know what size would be best for deer. I live in Upstate NY and hunt whitetail.

Also, I had a heck of a time getting the breach plug off when I got home to clean it. In fact I broke 2 breech plug removal tools!! Any tips to keep it from sticking. Should I dab a little never sieze on the threads?

Thanks
Old 03-24-2007, 06:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Good Deer Load?

Automotive Anti-sieze and lot's of it is what I use. Also I don't crank the BP down as hard as possible. I turn it down till tight then back it off just a hair. When I'm done shooting I loosenit off before I leave the range.

My first ML'ing deer fell to 2 T7 50 gr pellets, 300gr SST out of an Omega. The deer staggered 20 yds then dropped.
Old 03-24-2007, 06:33 PM

I always dope mine up good, use a q tip to clean up whatever makes a mess and only "finger" tighten it with the tool. It tightens up when you shoot. If its still frozen, pull the barrel off and use a propane torch and heat up the outside breechplug area. Once enough heat get to it, the plug will come out fairly easily. Just make sure the rifle is unloaded before you do the heat trick. 250 or the 300 will work great on deer. Ive used 245 powerbelts on deer and dropped them in their tracks.
Old 03-24-2007, 06:33 PM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: nymorey

Spent the day at the range with my new (to me)T/C Black diamond. I was shooting 250 gr and 300 gr sabots. Both shoot very well, but since I'm new to this I'd like to know what size would be best for deer. I live in Upstate NY and hunt whitetail.