Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

At it Again

Old 03-24-2007, 01:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default At it Again

I was out again today with my Lyman .50 Flintlock DeerStalker. Load 90 gr 2f Goex, 3f in the pan, .490 Speer Ball, .018 TC Pillow Tick Patch @ 15 yds of an Army grade sandbag, open sights. I am not really concerned with POI as I am with grouping. I am new to the flintlock world and I am just trying to get used it. I took cayugad's advice and got closer and will shoot from there until I get it right. First shot on the center line 2nd right next to it, 3rd up and 4th next to that one and the 5th off to the left. I stopped there as I knew I flinched and pulled the last one and I don't want to start bad habits.

Old 03-24-2007, 01:33 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: At it Again

That's looking much better. It shows you have accepted the flash of the pan as there is little indication of a flinch. It would also look like that rifle would be close on to about 50 yards. Did the .018 patch seem to fit better and make a tighter load? Also was it smoking the patch?

It really is looking good. I bet that was a lot of fun shooting today...
Old 03-24-2007, 03:37 PM
Giant Nontypical

Hunt, nice shooting! I'll have my .54 Deerstalker out all this week up at the cabin! I can't wait! I have had it since Jan and only shot it twice! I'm ready!
Old 03-24-2007, 04:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks BHF, they're a hoot to shoot. Enjoy!!!