Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Burnt patches

Old 03-06-2007, 05:55 PM

Default Burnt patches

Well I managed to take one shot with my New T/C New Englander. I used70grns of pyrodex with a .530RB and a .10 patch. The patches are some what old but still seem greasy.Thepatch and ball went down the bore with ease, should it be snug?I am new to this RB shooting but after the shot the patch was burnt right through. Is this good or bad? When the snow melts I will be able to get to the range to shootmore but not going to happen now.
Old 03-06-2007, 06:00 PM

Default RE: Burnt patches

Thats bad. If it burns up in the barrel, the patch wont be doing as good of a job as it should be. I had the same problem like you. My patches were old and 110grains fffg was burning them up. I added some bore butter to them, doped them up really good and never had a problem since. Im not happy with how cheap they get with the borebutter on the prelubed patches.
Old 03-06-2007, 06:31 PM
Dominant Buck

Get some new .015 patches and try it again. You will have much better luck. While I am not saying you should have to pound on the ramrod to seat the ball, a short starter is needed to get it going and then some effort to make one smooth motion with the projectile down the barrel. I am sure the age and the thickness of the patch were your problem.
Old 03-06-2007, 06:33 PM
Typical Buck

Going down too easy is not good for accuracy but should not burn out patches unless the lube is dried out or not a very good lube to start with. I cut my patches when I load at the muzzle using moosemilk or Natural Lube. I have been using Walmart pillow ticking for most of my patching but just added an old denim styled shirt to my patch collection. It has nice tight threads and is rugged but thinner than pillowticking.
Old 03-06-2007, 07:39 PM
Nontypical Buck