Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

can you scorch paper/canvas if you shoot it at close range?

Old 02-06-2007, 11:44 AM

Default can you scorch paper/canvas if you shoot it at close range?

Being an art student I'm always thinking of new ways to create "art." I don't really think burnt paper would be but the teachers encourage originality so...

If I planned out some type of pattern and shot something at close range would it give me a hole with scorch marks around it?
Old 02-06-2007, 12:13 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: can you scorch paper/canvas if you shoot it at close range?

You could stretched a piece of canvas tight in a frame and then shot it with a patched roundball, you'd get the hole. The amount of fire and powder stain would depend on the distance you shot. Too close and the pressure will tear the canvas but I doubt burn it. Maybe smoke it good. Too far and the flame and powder would disperse before it made your art.. It might be fun to try. As for paper, I think anything close it would just tear it up.
Old 02-06-2007, 03:36 PM

Maybe wet the canvas real good with some white colored medium and shoot it up close while it's still wet, think burned and unburned powder sticking to it might give a neat effect
Old 02-06-2007, 03:58 PM

OK, here's an idea. Fill a milk jug full of paint. Maybe try to layer different 4-6 different colors. Put your paper a foot or so behind and above the milk jug. Shoot it with a 12 ga or whatever and see what kind of pattern you can throw on the paper.

I am NOT an artist, so it probably wouldn't work. I'll try to post a picture here of my son shooting a milkjug full of water. Don't know if I can get it to work from here, may have to wait until I get home tonight.

Here goes. Well, it didn't work the first time,, here goes again.

OK, I'll do it tonight.
Old 02-06-2007, 04:11 PM