Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

hornady sst

Old 01-30-2007, 06:28 PM

Default hornady sst

I hAVE BEEN USING HORNADY SST SLUGS IN MY SHOTGUN FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS & LOVE HOW THEY SHOOT & DO DAMAGE ON DEER , HAS ANYONE USED THEM IN THIER SMOKE POLES & HOW DID THEY SHOOT ,I WOULD ASSUME THEY WOULD REACT THE SAME FROM A ML AS A SHOT GUN AS LONG AS THE FPS WOULD BE ABOUT THE SAME .
Old 01-30-2007, 07:05 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: hornady sst

Ikilled 3 deer in 1995 with 250 SST over 110 gr 777. Closest shot was 35-40 yds,longest was 135 yds. 2 died in their tracks,one was a 150 yd track.(my fault-missed lungs and hit liver) all pass through no recovered bullets. I find no fault with them.

Charlie
Old 01-30-2007, 07:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

I used 100 gr T7 (loose), 300 gr SST in my Omega this fall.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v445/HuntAway/106-0658_IMG-2.jpg

He didn't know what hit him. Range about 15 yd, passed through (double lung one rib in two out) and he went about 25 yds.

edit: I find them accurate as the Dead Centers but harder to load in my Omega.
Old 01-30-2007, 07:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Pella hunter

I hAVE BEEN USING HORNADY SST SLUGS IN MY SHOTGUN FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS & LOVE HOW THEY SHOOT & DO DAMAGE ON DEER , HAS ANYONE USED THEM IN THIER SMOKE POLES & HOW DID THEY SHOOT ,I WOULD ASSUME THEY WOULD REACT THE SAME FROM A ML AS A SHOT GUN AS LONG AS THE FPS WOULD BE ABOUT THE SAME .
I have no direct experience with hunting with them, but they load terrible in my guns. Also I have read on other ML forums that they don't expand, they shoot right thru an animal, with a small exit hole so little blood trail. The are excellent flyers and very accurate, if you can get them in your gun. Chap Gleason Va
Old 01-30-2007, 07:53 PM
Giant Nontypical