Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Preparing for upcoming gun season question

Old 11-19-2002, 09:50 AM

Default Preparing for upcoming gun season question

I'd like to make one thing perfectly clear - I'm still new to all of this so bear with me. Last season I attempted to take a nice buck and fired my Remington 700ml. The cap popped but it didn't fire for about a second or so. Needless to say the buck didn't wait around for the gun to fire. He bolted as soon as he heard the cap pop.

I posed the question last year and overwhelminly the response was I should have fired 2 or 3 caps without the load first. My question is: can I do this like a day before so I don't scare anything going into the woods or scare the hell out of the neighbors at 4:00 am? Pardon the elementary question but I really don't know what to do. Also should I run dry patches through the bore to remove some of the bore butter?
Old 11-19-2002, 07:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Preparing for upcoming gun season question

What you experienced was likely a hangfire due to excess oil in the bore when you loaded the rifle. The reason one should fire a couple of caps through before loading is because it'll burn out most of the oil and clear the nipple and breach plug.